Project Bookshelf: Rosetta Berger

Rosetta Berger Project Bookshelf Picture

This is the first real bookshelf that I’ve had to call my own in life, one that’s not shared with family members or put together using bookends on a wide windowsill in a dorm room or a carrel at the library. All of those bookshelves have a special place in my heart, but this is the first one that I bought to put in my own space, to be used solely by me and become a little window into my heart and soul. My globe bookends, a gift from my sister, are half purple, faded by the sun from the time they spent on my dorm room windowsill.

My favorite CDs and movies serve as bookends on the top shelf, accompanied by concert mementos that are placed strategically in hopes that my cat won’t be able to knock them over. My favorite books on this particular shelf are probably The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, East by Edith Pattou, and a very well-loved copy of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (handed down from my parents). I haven’t been able to fill this bookshelf up as much as I’d like yet, but I know that soon it will be far too small and my “bookshelf” will once again encompass unconventional and improvised spaces, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.


Rosetta Berger HeadshotRosetta Berger is a recent graduate of Wheaton College (Massachusetts), where she double majored in English and Russian Studies and studied literary and linguistic analysis. She has also studied at the University of Edinburgh and worked as a research assistant in a linguistics lab at Yale University. Rosetta has published scholarly articles on the literary relationship between Icelandic sagas and on the historical development of the Russian language, a paper which was recognized with the Kathryn Wasserman Davis Memorial Prize for Outstanding Undergraduate Research at Harvard University.

Leave a Reply

