The Wardrobe’s Best Dressed: Sandy Gingras’ “Not Even Close to What She Planned On”

sandy.jpg

 

Egg

One day, a giant egg rolls
into our driveway. It’s the size
of a VW Bug. What the hell?
my husband says. It’s not
my fault, I tell him.

My husband tries to push it away,
but it doesn’t move. He says
he could get his sledge hammer,
but I shake my head.

We have to park in the street.
The neighbors start calling us
“The Egg People.” The egg sits
like a beached whale next to
the zinnia garden. I can’t stop
looking at it out the kitchen window
when I’m doing dishes.

Today, I saw my husband spritzing
it with the hose. What were you doing
out there? I ask him later when
we’re watching TV in the dark.
I don’t want it to dry out on us, he said.
His shoulders looked tired.
He’s been working long hours.
So have I.


This selection comes from the poetry chapbook “Not Even Close to What She Planned On” by Sandy Gingras, which is available to purchase here from Diode Editions.

Sandy Gingras is the author and illustrator of twenty-five illustrated books. She also wrote a mystery novel, SWAMPED, which won the Crime Writers Association’s Debut Dagger Award in 2012. Her poetry and memoir pieces have been published in many journals. She designs stationery and gift products for several companies and owns two retail  stores. She lives with her husband, son and Golden Retriever on an island six miles out to sea off the coast of New Jersey.

Jennie Frost is a Jewish, Appalachian poet from Maryville, TN. Her poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Anomaly, Kudzu, Glass Mountain, Sink Hollow, Indicia, Mochila, Stirring, and Political Punch, an anthology on the politics of identity from Sundress Publications. She is a three-time winner of the Curtis Owens prize and beginning in January, she will serve as the Writer in Residence at the Sundress Academy for the Arts.

Leave a Reply

